How to create a role to assign permissions

Roles serve two primary functions:
  • Grant permissions to a specific user.  For example, this can be for an entire apps or to limit users to specific aspects of an app (dashboards, views/records, forms). 
  •  Set preferences for a user, including Administrators.  The order of Dashboards, and which Form is used to create new records or view existing records is set through the Role.  Note: this applies to Super Admins as well. 

Creating a Role

  • Navigate to the Admin icon and click "Add New Role" from the Roles drop-down menu. 
You should now be viewing the Role Settings page.You should now be viewing the Role Settings page.

Rename the Role


The first step is to give the role a name by clicking the text, 'New Role', in the top left corner of the page.  Note: We recommend specifying in the name of the role if it is a Limited User or an App Admin (see Role Type below).

Role Type


Before assigning dashboards, forms and views to the role, you will want to select the Type of role you are creating.  There are two options: Limited and Admin.
  • The Admin user type will automatically be granted permission to view and edit all resources in the app.  The sections below are only used to set an Admin's preference for which dashboards appear on their home page and for which forms appear by default when creating records and opening records from a view.  When a user is assigned as an app Admin, they will see the "Admin" icon in the header of the account.  This allows them to access the 'App Overview' page for any app where they have been added to an Admin role. 
  • The Limited user type requires the assignment of specific resources that have been created within the app in order for them to access anything in the app.  See the sections below for an explanation of the resources that can be granted.  Note: The Limited Role is not relevant for the Express package - all users are Super Admins. For additional user permissions, please upgrade to the Pro package.

Dashboards


This section is where you can give a limited user permission to view a Dashboard and to set a Dashboard as a home page. Click the 'ADD/REMOVE' button to open a dialog for selecting which dashboard is appropriate for this role. This window contains each dashboard in the app.  You can assign multiple dashboards to a role, if needed.  When you select a dashboard, its elements (Views and Forms) are displayed to the right.  When you assign a dashboard to a role and an element on the dashboard has not yet been explicitly granted permission to it, the system will display a GRANT ACCESS button next to it that allows you to grant permission to the view or form on that dashboard.  If you click the Done button without granting access to all of a dashboard's elements, you will see a warning icon next to it to remind you.

When multiple Dashboards are assigned to a Role, you can drag and drop each Dashboard to position them in a specific order.  The first Dashboard in the list will be the home page for the users in that Role.  The order of the Dashboards determines the order of the links at the top of the page (from left to right) when a user is viewing a Dashboard.  You can display four or five links across the top of a dashboard, with the rest of the links under the More drop-down menu. 

Forms for creating records


These are the forms used to add records into the system.  You can only assign one form per table.  That means Limited users can only utilize a single form to add records per each table.  The user will only be able to add data into the fields that are included on the form assigned here (unless the field is marked as read only on the form)
Note:
Sometimes these forms are simpler than their counterparts, so that whomever is adding the record can do so with minimal effort.

Views & Record Editing


This section allows you to grant limited users access to specific views in a table in the app.  When you grant access to a view, you are giving the limited user permission to every record in that view.  Next, you will want to choose the form the role is going to use to view or update these records when a single record is opened. The limited user will only be able to update the fields that are included on the form assigned here (unless the field is marked as read only on the form).  For a limited role, in the next drop-down menu, you will be able to choose one of three options for the records in the view: 'Read, Update & Delete', 'Read & Update', or 'Read only'.  ***The Form Permissions set here will apply to all views that have been assigned the same form.
Note: Limited users will only be able to in-cell edit the fields on a view if that view's form has given the user permission to edit it. 

Before you finish, let's add some users to this role!

Don't forget to click 'save' before leaving the page!

Related Video
TrackVia: User and Role Management 


Feedback and Knowledge Base