Introducing Backup and Restore!

Backup and Restore



Accidents happen. Sometimes you can undo whatever mistake you’ve made, other times you need to go for more drastic measures. This feature, Backup and Restore, is for those times.

There are two parts of Backup and Restore as the name suggests; Backup and Restore. We’ll talk through each separately.

This feature is only available for Super admins. 

Backup


When you execute a Backup of your account, you are doing so to your entire account. All users, apps and data across your entire account will be backed up. 

Backups are discreet, you and your team will be able to use TrackVia as the backup occurs. However, it is a snapshot of the system as is, so for example if you’re doing an import when you run a backup, the backup will only contain information in the system at the time of the backup, so you’ll likely not get all of your imported data (if the import process continues after the backup starts)

What is not backed up:   


Files (documents, voice memos, signatures), Images, Microservices
  • These items are stored externally, so when you delete them from TrackVia, they are deleted from the external system and not recoverable from a restore.
Sandboxes
  • Sandboxes will maintain their current state regardless of backup or restore.

How to access Backup and Restore

To access Backup and Restore, navigate to “My Account”



Where you’ll find Backup and Restore at the end of the “My Account” menu.



Clicking on Backup & Restore, you’ll be brought to this page:


The Backup and Restore page shows you all manual backups that have occurred within the last 7 days.

At this time, the list does not include the backups automatically created every night at midnight. To restore from one of these backups, please contact support. Eventually these automated backups will appear in this list, but not in this first release.

The second tab on the Backup and Restore page is the Activity Log. The Activity Log will show you what activities have happened, ordered chronologically. For example, when you perform a restore of your account, the system will actually back up your account before doing the restore, just in case you need to back out of the restore to the moments just before. 



Which then brings us to…

Restore


A “Restore” of your account is something you will likely do in only the most dire of circumstances. When you perform a restore on your account, you are rolling the entire account back to the time when the backup was performed. 

A couple of caveats about this procedure


  • This process will take your account offline for the entirety of the process. When the process starts, people who are in the system will be signed out and shown the “Maintenance Mode” page. This includes mobile users. 
  • We do not have specifics on how long your account will be in maintenance mode. It will depend on the size of your account and how busy the system is at the time of the restore. It could be several hours.
  • Files, images and microservices are not included in backups, do not restore your account to try to get deleted files back. Restores only include apps and data. 
  • If you’ve added a user after the restore point, you will need to re-add that user. 

Restore failures


There are certain cases when you will temporarily not be able to restore your account. In these instances, the person requesting the restore will try to restore and immediately be presented with an error message, “We’re sorry, we can’t restore that backup right now. Please try again later!”. 

These cases are:
  1. A sandbox is being created.
  2. An import is in progress.
  3. A backup or restore process is already running for the same account.
  4. The maximum number of backups (for all accounts) are happening at this time.
When a restore fails an email will go out to the user who attempted the restore.

What does a restore process look like?


From the Backup and Restore page, you will click on the ‘restore’ link.


After clicking this link, you’ll see a modal to read and confirm. 


And your account will go into maintenance mode. 



As well as your mobile clients




Here’s what the process looks like:




Additional information is available in our knowledge base here.


Feedback and Knowledge Base