How to add or move a user to a role

  • Click the Admin link to display the app resources navigation bar and select Roles.  Click the Edit link next to the Role you would like to add a user to.


To quickly add one user, simply click the “+” Button to the right of the user you want to add.  

To add multiple people, click on the users in the left panel to highlight them. Then click the “Add (n)” button to move them into the role. A number appears next to "Add" to show how many users are affected.

Use the "Select All" button on the left to choose all users, then "Add (n)" to add them to the role. Note "Select All" becomes "Deselect All" to undo this action

The number in the heading "Users (n)" keeps a tally of users in this role.

Reminder: Users do not have the role's permissions until the SAVE button at the top is clicked.

If a user is currently in another role, you will see the name of that role and an arrow instead of a + button. Click the arrow to move the user into the current role. A window will display to confirm that you want to move this user out of their current role and into this one. The confirmation window will also display if you have selected multiple users with a combination of existing roles and no assigned roles.

Select Move to complete the assignment.  


Click “Done” to close the User selection process. Note, this does not save the role assignment. You must still click the Save button on the Role to save the new user / role assignment.

Removing users from a Role

In the 2-panel display, the Remove button on the bottom of the right panel acts the same way as the Add button on the left. Highlight one or several users, then click "Remove (n)" to un-assign these users from the role.  

You can also choose "Select All" to highlight all users and then "Remove (n)." Note "Select All" becomes "Deselect All" to undo this action.

Last, in the single panel display, quickly delete an assigned user by clicking the X to the right of the user name.



Related Video
TrackVia: User and Role Management

Feedback and Knowledge Base